About Us

Daya Bay Reactor Neutrino Experiment is a particle physics experiment to be carried out in Daya Bay, Guangdong, China for studying neutrino oscillation. It aims to measure the last neutrino mixing angle θ13 using anti-neutrinos from β decays in the reactors of Daya Bay, Ling Ao and the future Ling Tung Nuclear Power Plants. A sensitivity of <0.01 for sin213, within 90% confidence level, is expected.

The Daya Bay site has 3 baselines ranging from 350m to 2km, with an overburden of 270 to 900 m.w.e. The proposed 3-zone detectors will consists of detector modules each holding ~20 tonnes of Gadolinium-doped liquid scintillator. By 2010, the Daya Bay power plants will reach a total output of 17.4GW, making this cluster one of the five most powerful ones in the world.

Geotechnical survey at Daya Bay has been completed and civil construction will begin later 2007. Data taking is expected to begin in 2010. This project is a collaboration of more than 100 scientists from China, Czech Republic, Russia, and the U.S..

Aberdeen Tunnel Laboratory is the only underground particle physics laboratory in Hong Kong. It was built in 1980s by The University of Hong Kong and housed a muon telescope for studying anisotropy in cosmic ray background.

The laboratory has been fully refurbished since its reopening in 2004. The new detector consists of a movable muon tracker with 72 proportional counters and 63 plastic scintillators, and a neutron detector containing ~0.5 tonne of Gadolinium-doped liquid scintillator. It will measure the angular distribution and flux of cosmic muons and their contribution to neutron background in underground laboratories. The Aberdeen Tunnel Experiment is also part of the Daya Bay Neutrino Experiment, as cosmic muon-induced neutrons is the major source of background in detecting the antineutrino events.


Last Updated on May 10 2014: